mini review: ‘Harmless Like You’ by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

Image result for harmless like you rowan hisayo buchanan

5 stars

Looking back on reviews I’ve written, it’s clear to me that for some reason I find it hardest to discuss books I enjoy the most. Either I don’t want to give too much away, and hope people enjoy the beauty for themselves. Or – I wish to remain completely blind to any faults and don’t wanna talk about them. Let me harmlessly float in literary ignorance goddammit!

zigzag

‘Harmless Like You’ is a book that I won through a giveaway on Goodreads, which was rather marvellous, but I wouldn’t let that influence my review. Luckily though, I adored this book.

I would find it very hard to articulate why I loved this so much without revealing too much about the plot or the characters, and I don’t want to do that. Part of the beauty of this read for me was going on a journey with the characters as I read it, and that’s something this author does particularly well. Her characterisation is so skillful, so brilliant, I loved it even when I didn’t love the characters. Each character is deep, flawed and authentic, and there was a tragic beauty in each and every one of them.

Sometimes its hard to pinpoint exactly why you like a book, especially when you don’t want to spoil the content for any future readers. All I know for sure is that this book just clicked with me, and the character of Yuki I felt deep in my marrow, and she’ll stay with me for a long time. The strength of this book is definitely in its emotive writing, rich characters, complex relationships, and a quietly confident narrative.

Please do read this book if it sounds like something you would enjoy, I would love to chat to someone in depth about this – I’m having a lot of feels right now.

Exquisitely done. I will read anything Rowan Hisayo Buchanan publishes. It’s mindblowing to think this is her first novel. I can’t wait to see what’s next!

sign off heartJess

One thought on “mini review: ‘Harmless Like You’ by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

  1. I have the exact same problem reviewing books I loved! In the time it takes me to write 100 words on a great book, I could have written 1000 words on a book I hated. I’m not sure why that is.

    This is a great review, and I’ve had Harmless Like You on my TBR for months, but now I’m really dying to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

