mini review: ‘Well-Read Women: Portraits of Fiction’s Most Beloved Heroines’ by Samantha Hahn

wellreadwomen

5 stars

A short and sweet review for this evening, but I’m still gushing over owning this little gem.

This is an absolutely stunning book, both in terms of content and just the way it’s been put together. Hahn’s watercolour art style is so enchanting, very soft and delicate. For the books and characters included that I have read so far, I felt the quotes chosen to accompany each picture were very apt.

Would have been nice to see more women of colour included, but that’s my only qualm, and there’s always the possibility for a second instalment I guess.

Will definitely be dipping in and out of this again in future, such a lovely book to own!

This is one of my favourite images from the book, although I could quite easily feature several here. I won’t tell you who it’s depicting, it might be fun to guess…

ophelia wellread women

Thanks for reading!

– Jessica

sign off heart

Leave a Reply

